APPLES BON FEMME

Standard

Oh, Jacque Pepin. He is just the most charming, humble, sweet, brilliant man. I have been trying to watch his mini-lessons during the pandemic, and this one caught my eye. I grabbed some English muffins from the cabinet, a couple of apples, and I was good to go. I recommend that you use a generous baking dish for this recipe. The juices need that space to properly caramelize. I used a smaller dish and, although it was delicious, the juices simmered and were soaked into the bread. My guys really loved it as a new and interesting was to start the day (delicious as a dessert, as well).

Apples Bon Femme

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 1 English muffin, halved
  • 2 large apples
  • 2 T. cup apricot jam
  • 3 T. light maple syrup
  • 2 T. unsalted butter, cut into 6 pieces

Directions:

  1.  Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Using a corer or a knife, core apples. Be sure to plunge the corer or knife straight down so that it doesn’t miss the core (if this happens, use the corer or knife to remove any remaining seeds).
  3. With the point of a knife, make an incision in the skin about a third of the way down each apple and cut through the skin 1/8 to 1/4 inch deep all around. As the apple cooks, the flesh expands and the part of the apple above this cut will lift up like a lid. Without this scoring, the apple could burst.
  4. Arrange the each apple on an English muffin half in a gratin dish or other baking dish that is attractive enough to be brought to the table. Coat the apples with the maple syrup and fill with apricot jam. Put a piece of butter in each apple and scatter the rest in the pan. Add 1/3 cup of water to the bottom of the pan and bake for 30 minutes.
  5. Baste the apples with the juice, and cook for another 30 minutes. The apples should be cooked throughout — plump, brown, and soft to the touch. Let cool to lukewarm before serving.

~ Facebook/ChefJacquesPepin.com ~

About Worth Stopping By . . .

I am a blogger who would rather talk than write. I enjoy traveling, family time, friends and food/fine dining. I have made some real efforts in the kitchen lately, and I blog in order to document and motivate myself to: 1.) fully use all of the fresh ingredients in my kitchen and 2.) cook healthy, creative meals.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.