Cabbage, Potato and Smoked Sausage Skillet

Standard

110After a hard day of working in the yard, the BK was ready for a hearty, nourishing dinner. Sausage and cabbage to the rescue!! We came across some Neese’s Smoked Sausage at Town and Country Meat & Produce Market a while ago, and I decided to pull them from the freezer and use them with some cabbage and potatoes that I had on hand. I do recommend that you cut the potatoes in half length-wise before slicing — much easier when trying to incorporate and cook with the other ingredients. I also made some other changes to the original recipe before I shared it here. I reduced the number of potatoes from three to two and used a Granny Smith apple to give more flavor. I also gave a tweak to the seasonings. Instead of using a dash of seasoned salt, I used a generous teaspoon of Emeril’s Essence (Cajun seasoning) and added a teaspoon of dill. And, I substituted vegetable broth since I had some left over from the Linguine with Zucchini, Tomato, and Crab from earlier in the week. A very satisfying meal indeed!


CABBAGE, POTATO AND SMOKED SAUSAGE SKILLET

(Serves 4)

Ingredients

  • 2 T. of olive oil
  • 12 large head of cabbage, roughly chopped (or an entire small one)
  • 1 large mild onion, chopped
  • 1 lb smoked sausage, cut into 1/2-inch circles
  • 2  large potatoes, scrubbed and cut into 1/4-inch slices
  • 1 Granny Smith apple, peeled and coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 tsp. dillweed
  • 1 tsp. Cajun seasoning
  • 12 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 dash pepper

Directions

  1. Heat the olive oil in a pan over medium heat and add onion, smoked sausage, and potatoes. Season with the dill, Cajun seasoning, and paprika. Cook and stir over medium heat until potatoes are cooked about halfway through.
  2. Add the chopped cabbage, apple and 1 cup of chicken broth. Cover and cook, stirring occasionally until cabbage is crisp-tender and most of the liquid evaporates.

~from Food.com

About Worth Stopping By . . .

I am a blogger who would rather talk than write. I enjoy traveling, family time, friends and food/fine dining. I have made some real efforts in the kitchen lately, and I blog in order to document and motivate myself to: 1.) fully use all of the fresh ingredients in my kitchen and 2.) cook healthy, creative meals.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.