Grilled Salmon with Avocado Salsa

Standard

salmon

We combine two superfoods here to create a super supper. This dish is the ultimate heart healthy meal. The avocado is loaded in healthy monounsaturated fat that helps lower cholesterol and the salmon is rich in omega-3 fatty acids that are great for the heart, joints and memory. I would change up the order in which I prepared the ingredients. I first put together the salsa so that it had time to chill properly. I followed that with the dry rub and allowed the salmon to rest for about 45 minutes before I put it on the grill. We found the rub to be a little heavy for the fish. I think that I would reduce the cumin and paprika by half next time. I recommend that you grill the salmon for about 7-8 minutes total (4 minutes skin side down then flip for another 3 minutes). A fantastic way to start out the grilling season.


GRILLED SALMON WITH AVOCADO SALSA (Serves: 4)

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs salmon, cut into 4 pieces
  • 1 tbs olive oil (I used light extra virgin olive oil)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp ancho chili powder
  • 1 tsp black pepper

Ingredients for Avocado Salsa:

  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • 1/2 small red onion, sliced
  • Juice from 2 limes
  • 1-2 T. finely chopped cilantro (depending on how big of a cilantro lover you are)
  • Salt to taste

Directions

  1. Mix the salt, chili powder, cumin, paprika, onion and black pepper together, rub the salmon fillets with olive oil and this seasoning mix.
  2. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
  3. Pre-heat the grill.
  4. Combine the avocado, onion, cilantro, lime juice, and salt in a bowl and mix well, chill until ready to use.
  5. Grill the salmon to desired doneness. (I grilled for about 5 minutes).
  6. Top with avocado salsa and enjoy!

~ TheCookieRookie.com ~

About Worth Stopping By . . .

I am a blogger who would rather talk than write. I enjoy traveling, family time, friends and food/fine dining. I have made some real efforts in the kitchen lately, and I blog in order to document and motivate myself to: 1.) fully use all of the fresh ingredients in my kitchen and 2.) cook healthy, creative meals.

Leave a Reply

