Pecan Pie Bread Pudding

Standard

PPBPWhen my children were younger I used to bake pies and cakes fairly often, but I rarely make desserts anymore. This beautiful creation was made for a special event — my husband’s birthday dinner. My guys love bread pudding and I thought that this Pecan Pie Bread Pudding recipe would be the perfect choice for a sweet treat. I used about 2/3 of a loaf of French bread, but I do want to suggest that you use a scant 8 cups of cubed bread pieces in order to have a good balance with the liquid ingredients. I also recommend that you line your baking pan with parchment paper. I served this dessert straight out of the oven, but when I went back to take care of the leftovers they were stuck tight to my 9×9″ dish. It also required some overnight soaking for the clean up. Combining two great classics into one delicious dish is sure to please!


PECAN PIE BREAD PUDDING (Serves 6)

Ingredients

  • 8 cups bite-sized bread pieces
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups light corn syrup
  • 1/3 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon maple or vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 cup pecans, halved or chopped

Directions

  1. Prepare an 8×8 or 9×9 baking dish by lining it with parchment paper and spraying well with a non-stick cooking spray.
  2. Place all of the bread pieces into the baking dish.
  3. Pour the melted butter over the bread.
  4. In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, corn syrup, brown sugar, granulated sugar, maple or vanilla extract, cinnamon, and the salt.
  5. Stir in the pecans. Pour evenly over the bread pieces. Use a rubber spatula to push and “prod” the bread pieces around in the dish until all are coated in the syrupy mixture.
  6. Bake at 375º for 45 minutes. Serve warm with a dollop of whipped cream.

~ from SomethingSwanky.com ~

About Worth Stopping By . . .

I am a blogger who would rather talk than write. I enjoy traveling, family time, friends and food/fine dining. I have made some real efforts in the kitchen lately, and I blog in order to document and motivate myself to: 1.) fully use all of the fresh ingredients in my kitchen and 2.) cook healthy, creative meals.

Leave a Reply

