Caramelized Baked Chicken

Standard

teriyaki

This is a terrific take on Teriyaki Chicken. Although the recipe is designed for chicken legs or wings, I had to modify it for use with boneless, skinless chicken tenders. I allowed the chicken to marinate in the sauce for about two hours prior to baking. I also adjusted the baking time — I think that an hour is really too long. After thirty minutes the chicken had reached 160 F. so I removed the baking dish from the oven and transferred the tenders to a plate. The sauce was drained into a 10″ skillet and cooked at medium-high until it thickened. The chicken was returned to the baking dish, brushed with the sauce, and placed in the oven for an additional ten minutes to finish caramelizing. Really, really good — but 2-1/2 pounds of chicken is a whole lot of bird! I reserved some of the left-overs and the teriyaki sauce for an all-hands-on-deck stir fry. The additional chicken will show up here soon in a Teriyaki Chicken Salad that will knock your socks off!

Tip: I wanted to add a little heat to this recipe so I added a bit of Sambal Oelek to the marinade.


CARAMELIZED BAKED CHICKEN (Serves 6+)

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 lbs chicken legs
  • 1 2/3 tablespoons olive oil ( to help it stop sticking to the pan)
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1 2/3 tablespoons ketchup
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 2 -3 garlic cloves, minced
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 teaspoon salam oelek (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Place chicken in a 9×13 inch baking dish.
  3. Mix together the oil, soy sauce, ketchup, honey, garlic, salt and pepper. Pour over the chicken
  4. Bake in preheated oven for one hour, or until sauce is caramelized.

~ from Food.com ~

About Worth Stopping By . . .

I am a blogger who would rather talk than write. I enjoy traveling, family time, friends and food/fine dining. I have made some real efforts in the kitchen lately, and I blog in order to document and motivate myself to: 1.) fully use all of the fresh ingredients in my kitchen and 2.) cook healthy, creative meals.

Leave a Reply

