Strawberry Goat Cheese Bruschetta

Standard

goat cheeseI have to admit that I did a double take when I saw this recipe. STRAWBERRY BRUSCHETTA?!? I was intrigued and decided that I had to put it to the test. I chose some Cranberry and Pear Balsamic from my growing collection of vinegars to bring out the fruity taste of the berries. Once reduced and cooled it took on a thick, syrupy consistency that was perfect for binding the berries and thyme leaves together. We brushed slices of Olive Oil & Sea Salt bread with a light olive oil before we toasted them on the grill, and then spread them with some whipped goat cheese before topping them off with the strawberry mixture. A really tasty treat — rich, creamy and flavorful. I served this as a desert, but I think that it would be a fantastic addition to brunch or maybe just enjoy it with a glass of wine on the deck.


STRAWBERRY GOAT CHEESE BRUSCHETTA (Serves 6)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 12 slices Italian bread
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 pound strawberries, washed and diced
  • 2 teaspoons fresh thyme leaves, plus more for serving
  • 1 cup goat cheese, room temperature
  • salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Heat vinegar in a small skillet over medium-low heat. Simmer until reduced by about half, 8 to 10 minutes. Remove from heat and allow to cool to room temperature.
  2. Prepare a grill for high heat. Place bread slices on a foil-lined baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil.
  3. Combine strawberries and thyme in a small bowl and set aside.
  4. Grill bread on the preheated grill until browned, about 3 minutes per side.
  5. Spread goat cheese on toasted bread. Add black pepper, salt, and reduced vinegar to the strawberry mixture. Spoon over the goat cheese topped bruschetta. Garnish with additional thyme.

~ from AllRecipes.com ~

About Worth Stopping By . . .

I am a blogger who would rather talk than write. I enjoy traveling, family time, friends and food/fine dining. I have made some real efforts in the kitchen lately, and I blog in order to document and motivate myself to: 1.) fully use all of the fresh ingredients in my kitchen and 2.) cook healthy, creative meals.

Leave a Reply

