Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Sweet Chili Sauce

Standard

sprouts

I’m always, always looking for new recipes for old favorites. I was drawn to this recipe because I was interested to try this spicy, Asian take on Brussels sprouts. It also gave me another chance to use up some of my sambal oelek – a seemingly endless jar. Just combine a couple of ingredients and toss to coat the sprouts before roasting — served here with Grilled Ham Steak.


ROASTED BRUSSELS SPROUTS WITH SWEET CHILI SAUCE (Serves 4)

Ingredients

  • 1 pound brussels sprouts, stem trimmed and halved
  • 2 tablespoons cooking oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely minced
  • 2 teaspoons fish sauce or soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons sweet chili sauce

Directions

  1. Heat the oven to 400F. On a baking sheet, toss the brussels sprouts in cooking oil to coat evenly. Roast in the oven for 20 minutes, tossing them halfway so they cook evenly. Remove brussels sprouts from the oven and turn on oven broiler to high, with the oven rack positioned in the top third of the oven.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together the remaining ingredients and pour over the brussels sprouts, tossing to coat evenly. Broil the brussels sprouts for 5 minutes or until the sugar in the chili sauce is bubbling and caramelizing. Watch them carefully so they don’t burn! Remove from the oven and serve immediately.

~from SteamyKitchen.com

About Worth Stopping By . . .

I am a blogger who would rather talk than write. I enjoy traveling, family time, friends and food/fine dining. I have made some real efforts in the kitchen lately, and I blog in order to document and motivate myself to: 1.) fully use all of the fresh ingredients in my kitchen and 2.) cook healthy, creative meals.

Leave a Reply

