Chicken Stock

Standard

 

images (5)I recently bought a couple of rotisserie chickens for a quick family favorite (Chicken Broccoli Divan). After cutting away most of the breast meat I decided to make a nice chicken stock to reserve for the next time I made soup. I particularly like this recipe — I was able to substitute chicken carcasses for the chicken bones, it uses roasted vegetables, doesn’t require a lot of prep, it uses the stems of the parsley leaving the rest for other uses, and I was able to use the bottom end of the celery and save the tops.  . . . And of course, I picked through to salvage as much chicken as I could for sandwiches or the pups.


CHICKEN STOCK (Yields about 1 Quart)

Ingredients

  • 4 pounds chicken bones, chopped
  • 3 large onions, quartered
  • 1/2 head celery, coarsely chopped
  • 2 large carrots, coarsely chopped
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/4 cup whole peppercorns
  • Small bunch flat-leaf parsley, stems only
  • 6 sprigs fresh thyme

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.
  2. Combine onions, celery, and carrots in a pan; toss with oil and season lightly with salt and pepper. Roast until the vegetables are a rich golden brown, about 30 to 40 minutes.
  3. Place the chicken carcasses and vegetables to a large stockpot, add 12 cups cold water, and the remaining ingredients and bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce the heat to medium and simmer for 4 hours.
  4. Remove from the heat and strain through a mesh strainer into a clean pot. Place back on the stove over high heat and cook until reduced by half,  skimming the scum that rises to the top with a ladle every 20 minutes.
  5. Use immediately or let cool to room temperature, cover, and refrigerate or freeze until ready to use.

imagesCVXG64PL

About Worth Stopping By . . .

I am a blogger who would rather talk than write. I enjoy traveling, family time, friends and food/fine dining. I have made some real efforts in the kitchen lately, and I blog in order to document and motivate myself to: 1.) fully use all of the fresh ingredients in my kitchen and 2.) cook healthy, creative meals.

Leave a Reply

