Deviled Egg Salad Sandwich

Standard

 image

I had a few leftover deviled eggs from the Beer Simmered Grilled Sausages, and I thought they would be the beginning of a great egg salad sandwich. But, first for the deviled eggs themselves. This is my mom’s basic recipe — again, nothing fancy. Hardboiled eggs, mustard, and Miracle Whip (I guess she was a big fan). I can’t apologize. I got hooked on these at an early age. The secret to a good deviled egg filling is in the blending. I use a pastry blender to work the yolks down to a fine meal and to work in the liquid ingredients. I also like to use the SuperShooter by Hamilton Beach. It is so easy to pipe filling into eggs, pasta, mushroom caps, etc. Of course, top with some Hungarian Paprika.

DEVILED EGG SALAD SANDWICH
(2 Servings)

Ingredients:

8 deviled eggs

1/8 cup onion, finely chopped

2 T. pickle relish

1/4 t. dill weed

 

Preparation:

1. Separate the filling from the white of the eggs. If the filling is a bit stiff, thin with a touch of apple cider vinegar.

2. Chop the eggs whites and add the onions and pickle relish. Stir in the filling mixture. Season with dill weed to taste.

3. Serve on toasted bread (I recommend Arnold Sandwich Thins).

 

 

Leave a Reply

